One of the most common misdemeanor crimes that we handle is driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs, commonly referred to as Driving While Intoxicated (DWI) or Driving Under the Influence (DUI). The State of New Mexico has made this crime an enforcement priority. In New Mexico, the penalties for a DWI/DUI can range from a rehabilitation and treatment program to twelve years in prison.
When you are arrested for DWI/DUI, you might be unaware that along with the arrest comes a revocation of your driver’s license that will make it illegal for you to drive. This is an administrative suspension by the New Mexico Motor Vehicles Division (MVD) and is separate from your criminal court case. As part of our DWI defense work, we represent you for the MVD hearing. You only have 10 days from the arrest date to request a hearing that can prevent the revocation of your license.
DWI/DUI cases are very technical, which makes it hard to convict and makes DWI/DUI defense a specialized field. You should never go to court without an attorney. Law Offices of Lynda Latta has specialized DWI attorneys that will represent you.
Assault and Battery
Assault and Battery are two separate crimes with very different consequences. In New Mexico, Assault or Battery can come in various levels with different penalties and consequences. In Albuquerque, either charge can lead to up to 90 days in jail and/or a fine.
The more serious charge is Battery against a Household Member. A household member is a spouse, former spouse, parent, present or former stepparent, present or former parent in-law, grandparent, grandparent-in-law, a co-parent of a child, or a person with whom a person has had an intimate relationship. In the case of this more serious Battery charge, a person faces up to 364 days of jail and a conviction for this type of crime can have serious impacts on employment, gun rights, and security clearance. If you have been charged with Assault and Battery, call our office and speak to an attorney as soon as possible.
Violation of an Order of Protection
Violation of a Restraining Order or Violation of an Order of Protection is a misdemeanor punishable by up to 364 days in jail. For instance, texting or calling a person protected by a Restraining Order can lead to months of litigation and jail time. Each individual call, text, letter or contact of any kind can lead to another charge for violating a Restraining Order. Violations of this kind place a burden on the prosecutors to produce evidence.
Shoplifting, driving with a suspended or revoked license, criminal trespass, minor in possession of alcohol, possession of marijuana and disorderly conduct are other common misdemeanors.
Misdemeanor crimes and charges come in three forms: charges under a city code, petty misdemeanors and “full” misdemeanors. All these charges are serious, carry jail time and have a large impact on your future. Even a minor criminal charge can affect your job, your ability to receive student aid, where you can live and child custody. These convictions will generally show up on any background check for life. No matter how small the charge, it is important to have representation so that you can minimize the impact on your future.
Please call us for your initial free telephone consult with one of our attorneys. We are here to help.